Unwanted Road

Image
By Stuart Miles, published on 19 May 2014
Stock Image – image ID: 100261532

 

John 14: 27 KJV

27 “Peace I leave with you; My peace I give unto you, not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

I have spent the past two weeks at the bedside of my mom in the ICU. Returning home to a refrigerator of science experiments and cobwebs is no task for the faint hearted; I admit my passage through Stressdom has not been a pleasant one.

When I opened my computer for the first time in days, I saw an email from Roy Lessin’s site, Meet Me in the Meadows, http://www.meetmeinthemeadow.com. The ‘fretbusters’ tags drew me in quickly.

Of course, I had spent much time in prayer for my mom and my family and had received multitudes of prayers from friends and loved ones. Yet, it is easy to become weary after days of no sleep and closely watching someone suffer.

I was blessed by his admonition to “walk in His path even though you see a valley ahead.” I have stood at the gate of the valley of death with both of my parents and have trusted the Lord to usher us through in His time and in His direction. So far, they are both still with me.

I have learned to follow when the road ahead is dark and unwanted. You can read about my path with my Dad here:

http://journals.lww.com/journalofchristiannursing/Citation/2014/06000/Atypical_Presentations.19.aspx

The full story is recorded in this book under the title “When Sheep Fly”: http://www.amazon.com/Its-God-Thing-Stories-Experience/dp/1605875503/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1403705221&sr=8-1&keywords=it%27s+a+go

Lessin has over a hundred fret-busters to encourage and soothe. Read them. They will bless you. I have a few of my own to add:

Go when you think you no longer can.

Love when it seems too difficult.

Hang on when you’re losing your grip.

Engage when you want out.

Keep believing when everything seems false.

Hold on to the prize when you think you’ve lost it.

It no longer amazes me when the peace of God that surpasses all understanding encompasses my soul. I have been trained and disciplined by the things I have suffered. There is no other way. It is the path our Sovereign Lord chose for his Only Son:  “though he were a son, yet He learned obedience through the things He suffered” (Hebrews 5:8 KJV).

One more thing.

Don’t give up even when you’re down.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

