Remember Your Creator

Ecclesiastes 12:3King James Version (KJV)
3 In the day when the keepers of the house shall tremble, and the strong men shall bow themselves, and the grinders cease because they are few, and those that look out of the windows be darkened,
King James Version (KJV)
by Public Domain

Most young people think they are invincible. I don’t recall being that naïve but in retrospect my vision may be skewed.

One thing I do remember clearly is my decision to follow the Lord. At sixteen I figured out that I was not God and that the answers to life could be found in His book. I also learned His Name: Jesus.

Salvation was not an insurance policy for me. Surely, I did not want everlasting punishment for my sins but the attraction to God was His presence, guidance, and love. I was fortunate to have a Christian community that modeled the benefit of knowing Him personally and drew me to my own personal relationship with Christ.

Over the past forty-five years of being a Christian, I have made doozies of mistakes. How thankful I am to know He is faithful and just to forgive us when we repent. I still don’t have all the answers but rest in the knowledge that He does. I am continually learning to wait upon the Lord.

My current difficulty is caring for aged and ailing parents. Both of them are God-fearers but not Christ followers. Like so many people, religion is viewed as a crutch and a prohibition of a list of activities rather than an intimate, loving relationship with the Sovereign Creator. My life has not been the blazing testimony I wish it had been; isn’t it the hardest to witness to the people that know you the best?

Solomon advised us to know God in our youth before the rough times of old age come upon us, when we will say, “I have no delight in them” (Ecclesiastes 12:1 NASV). My parents are in their late eighties and afflicted with so many ailments; their lives are painful and difficult and there is little delight for them to experience.

In this twelfth chapter of Solomon’s book, he continues to describe how the all the lights darken (our eyes fail), the watchmen trembles (we develop tremors and weakness), the grinders stand idle (our teeth fail), the sound of the mill is low (our hearing diminishes), and the silver cord is broken (our heart gives out). Even with the best diet, exercise, vitamins and recreation, we are doomed to death. It’s a proven fact. One out of one will die. That’s one hundred percent…

The sadness I feel to see my parents unable to be comforted by the God I know is immense. They have some positive expectations of what is referred to as “the other side” but I rejoice to know that when I am absent from the body I will be present with the Lord. My time of demise is also approaching but my prayer is to let the Lord ease my burden as He walks along side of me as He has for the past years of my life. Solomon concludes in verse thirteen: “…fear God and keep His commandments, because this applies to every person.” One out of one. One hundred percent.

If you are a young person, consider the years ahead. They will not be as delightful as you imagine. The Lord will help you along the way, in the good times and the difficult. Now is the time to begin the most important relationship you will ever have.

And if you are an old person, it’s not too late to know Him now. Like the thief on the cross, you can be extended the same welcome to God’s kingdom today. Your past can be forgiven and forgotten if you acknowledge Him as Lord. Soon, you will stretch out your hand and be taken where you do not want to go, but your dearest friend will comfort you along the way.

(Why are the kittens pictured with this post? Besides the fact that they are so cute, they remind me of our innocence. Their frailty demonstrates our need of a great protector who can sympathize with our weakness.)

Leave a Reply

