A New Neighborhood

And he answered them, “You give them something to eat” (Mark 6:37 ASV).

The mass feeding is recorded in all four gospels. Each gospel writer records the need for food as well as the perceived impossibility of provision by the hands of the disciples. They believed the only solution would be an exodus of the crowd to a local restaurant.

Jesus said, “You feed them.” Incredulously they exclaimed: “Are you serious? You want us to go spend a fortune on food for their supper?”(Mark 6:37 MSG) Eight months wages would be unattainable even if they pooled their resources.

I’ve fallen into this same pattern of thinking; I see solutions based on what someone else has done, or if all else fails, an action I’ve taken in the past. Solutions have to be based on what I can do.

But Jesus said to his disciples: stay put, watch me work, then get involved. How can I watch the Lord’s hand if I am rushing ahead? How can I see what He will do right where I am if I have decided to move on to another place? Often “somethings” end up as “nothings” because the power came from my own efforts and not from the Lord.

Isaiah 32: 17 tells us that “the work of righteousness will be peace and the service of righteousness, quietness and confidence forever” (NASB). How often in my efforts do I discover the worry, anxiety, and fears explicitly dismissed in scripture? In the absence of peace, is it possible to be righteous?

Peace is a litmus test for believers. In the same passage,  the Message says we will live in a peaceful neighborhood with quiet lives and endless trust. What comes to your mind when you envision such a lifestyle? Does it come close to where you are living spiritually now?

It doesn’t mirror where I usually live. I long for a rock-steady unwavering faith able to withstand all of life’s trials. I am far from my goal and I need to be reminded that He is God and I am not.

Is your feeding station an unruly hungry crowd, a failing relationship, empty pockets, or a situation requiring solution beyond your grasp? The black hole you find yourself sailing through into uncertainty may be road to the peaceful neighborhood where you will fall into the Lord’s strong arms.

Each morning I have to decide to trust, watch Him work, and participate… because the hope of peace and endless trust waits.

 

(Photo credit: Residential House Stockhttp://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/Residential_g296-Residential_House_p95636.html ImageBy samarttiw, published on 08 August 2012Stock Image – image ID: 10095636 )

Leave a Reply

