Debt-free!

Romans 13:8-10 King James Version (KJV)
8 Owe no man any thing, but to love one another: for he that loveth another hath fulfilled the law.

 

I love my cash back reward card. I hate debt. So, I use this card like a debit card, only purchasing what I can afford. There is never any balance to pay at the end of the month. I pay it all.

There is already a nice chunk of cash accrued for Christmas purchases and it will seem like found money when I redeem it. The convenience has to be weighed against the threat of electronic gremlins I’ve encountered. Trade-offs are inevitable.

Life recently thrust me into additional spending due to several convergent emergencies. Since I had the funds to cover these expenses, I made a transfer to pay this month’s balance. Once cleared, I would have available credit to continue to purchase as events unfolded; sometimes carrying cash is not desirable.

I was told I would have to wait twenty-four hours to confirm the transfer. Of course, the transaction occurred on a holiday weekend. I experienced slight anxiety, checking with the bank and the credit card company, over the next day to confirm my zero balance.

I confess. I worried, contrary to scriptural admonition.

As I worried, I saw the parallel many people experience concerning the payment of their sin debt. Just like the teller who assured me the transaction would be viable, Jesus demonstrated by His ultimate transfer through His shed blood on the cross. Even though Paul told us we can know, many still wring their hands in anxiety unsure that the payment actually has been made. Never knowing if your sins are forgiven is much worse than worrying that the electronic bank gods have done their job.

When I finally confirmed that I had a zero balance, I felt rather joyful. Relieved that the electronic gremlins had not rallied; I rejoiced that the transaction went through without a glitch. It’s a great feeling to know there is nothing owed. It’s a freedom I value by never extending myself into debt. Once debt has been experienced with all of its consequences and pervasive nagging, a rationale mind develops a strong aversion to return.

Sin is debt. It is something owed we can never repay. To clear our balance, we need to have a guaranteed transfer to wipe us clean. Only the blood of Jesus can do that for us, and when it happens, the joy experienced far outweighs paying off our monthly balance. And, the accrued rewards will last way beyond Christmas into eternity.

 

Phot0 credit: http://www.freedigitalphotos.net, By Stuart Miles, published on 11 March 2013
Stock Image – image ID: 100146108

Leave a Reply

